BFP

I had my first frozen embryo transfer (FINALLY) on July 12, 2017. It was so quick, I was surprised. After it was over I said “Thats it?” to our RE. And he said “Thats it!” and smiled.   My husband drove me home and I was afraid to even walk (yes I know it won’t fall out!). Actually, I lied, we stopped at my favorite ice cream parlor and got ice cream first, then went home. I sat around for the next two days just hoping and praying for ANY symptoms but didn’t ever really get any. I had slight cramping the day of the transfer and thats it. About 5 days after the transfer, I broke down and took a home pregnancy test. I looked at it quickly and saw nothing, so took off to have coffee with a friend.  When I got home, I looked again and saw a VERY faint – but enough to give me hope!

I know they tell us not to take home tests, but I couldn’t take it anymore. I took one every day after that until my first BETA and the line got darker and I eventually took a digital that said “pregnant”. 🙂  BFP!

My first BETA on July 20 read 53 – that seemed really low to me, but this is my first time going through this so I didn’t have much to base it on… other than having anything is probably good.  My second BETA on July 22 read 152 which was enough for them to confirm that I am pregnant.

When the nurse called, I had a feeling she was going to tell me I was pregnant, but even so, in the back of my mind, I still thought there was a chance that it wouldn’t take.  I heard her say “Congratulations, you’re pregnant!” and I grinned ear to ear. I couldn’t even speak. My husband was there with me with the phone on speaker, and he couldn’t talk either.  I think the lackluster explosion of emotions threw the nurse off – and she asked if I already knew.  I was caught!

My next BETA is Aug. 1, and my first ultra sound to see the heartbeat is scheduled for August 8.

I know there is still time for things to go wrong, but I’ve decided to give myself time to be happy. After worrying and having things not go as “planned” for the last 18 months, my husband and and I deserve some good news.

Still not sure when to tell people… I know a lot of people tell right away, and others like to wait until first trimester has passed…..but I feel like my friends and family have been on this journey with us the entire time, and keeping this exciting news from them for 12 weeks is going to kill me! Not sure what we will do yet, but definitely going to wait until the first ultra sound and be sure everything looks ok.

Time to celebrate!

Leave a comment